156 Following

Bettie's Books

A Stuga On the Cusp of the Orust Riviera, tucked away next to a hobbit hole in the woods.

Beethoven for a Later Age: The Journey of a String Quartet by Edward Dusinberre

bookshelves: radio-4, spring-2016, music, nonfiction, published-2016
Read from March 28 to April 08, 2016




Description: Edward Dusinberre is the Tackas Quartet's first violinist and in his illuminating account he takes us inside the daily life of a string quartet and explores his creative, musical and personal relationships with his fellow players. He also looks at the challenges of performing Beethoven's extraordinary quartet music which was composed against the backdrop of the Napoleonic Wars. Recordings of the Tackas Quartet playing Beethoven's string quartets will be interwoven into each programme. Tim McMullan is the reader.

1/5 Audition

2/5 The First Season

3/5 Irretrievably Fractured

4/5 Recreation

5/5 Convalescence